Cart Bump vs Axe Checkbox Upsell: which order bump fits your store?

By Digital Cartel · Listing data checked 9 October 2026

Disclosure: we are Digital Cartel and we build Cart Bump. Every price and feature below comes from each app's public Shopify App Store listing on 9 October 2026, linked so you can check. Axe has a long track record and features Cart Bump does not; we say where.

An order bump is a small, related add-on offered right before the shopper pays: gift wrap, a warranty, a refill, a spare cable. Shopify apps put that offer in one of three places, and where it appears matters more than any other feature:

At a glance

Cart Bump (ours)Axe Checkbox Upsell Order BumpUpsell & Order Bump BumpProOrderBump Checkout Upsells
Where the offer showsCart pageProduct pageCheckoutPost-purchase (Standard); checkout (Plus)
Free planYes: 1 offer, full stylingNoYes: 1 active bump rule, basic click analyticsNo
Paid planPro $4.99/mo: 3 offers, rules, dates$10/mo: unlimited checkboxes and productsPro $19.99/mo: unlimited rules, 3 trigger typesStandard $39/mo; Plus $139/mo
Free trial14 days14 days14 days14 days
Rating (reviews)New, no reviews yet4.7 (49)No reviews yet4.8 (17)
Built for ShopifyNoYesNoNo
LaunchedSeptember 2026May 2022May 2026October 2020
TargetingPro: cart contains / does not contain a product, min and max cart totalPer product pagePro: 3 trigger typesTag, SKU or cart value
SchedulingPro: start and end datesNot statedNot statedNot stated
Analytics in the appNo (bumps show as normal line items in Shopify reports)YesImpressions, clicks, CTRYes
Discounted bump offersUse a Shopify automatic discountNot statedYesYes
Page builder supportTheme editor (Online Store 2.0)GemPages, PageFly and others listedCheckoutCheckout

Data from each linked listing, 9 October 2026. Prices in USD. "Not stated" means the listing does not mention it.

Cart Bump vs Axe: the real difference is placement

Axe adds a checkbox on the product page: "Add a 2-year warranty for $9". The shopper decides about the add-on while deciding about the main product. That suits add-ons tied to one product (a warranty for a specific item, an engraving option). Axe has four years of reviews, analytics, the Built for Shopify badge, unlimited checkboxes and wide page-builder support. One plan, $10/mo.

Cart Bump puts the offer on the cart page: "Before you check out: add gift wrap for $4?". The shopper sees it once, with the whole order in view, and adds it with one tap without leaving the cart. That suits add-ons that fit the order rather than one product: gift wrap, shipping protection, a sample, a care kit. The Free plan runs one offer on a live store; Pro ($4.99/mo) adds two more offers, rules based on what is in the cart and the cart total, and start and end dates.

Choose Axe if: your add-ons belong to specific products, you want analytics inside the app, or you build pages with GemPages or PageFly.
Choose Cart Bump if: your add-on fits any order, you want to start free, or you want cart-based rules (for example, only offer protection on orders over $50) at a lower monthly price.

Both can run together: Axe on product pages, Cart Bump on the cart.

What about checkout bumps?

Offers inside checkout catch the shopper at the last step, which is why apps like BumpPro and OrderBump exist. Two things to check first:

  1. Your Shopify plan. Apps can only add content to the checkout steps on Shopify Plus. OrderBump's listing puts in-checkout upsells on its $139/mo Plus plan; its $39 Standard plan is post-purchase offers.
  2. Track record. BumpPro has a free plan but launched in May 2026 with no reviews yet.

If you are not on Shopify Plus, the cart page is the last page you control before payment, which is where Cart Bump works.

Limits of Cart Bump, plainly

Can I build an order bump without an app?

On the cart page, yes, with some theme code. A form that posts to /cart/add with the add-on's variant ID, styled as a card, does the basic job:

{%- assign addon = all_products['gift-wrap'] -%}
{%- unless cart.item_count == 0 -%}
<form action="{{ routes.cart_add_url }}" method="post" class="cart-addon">
  <input type="hidden" name="id" value="{{ addon.selected_or_first_available_variant.id }}">
  <input type="hidden" name="return_to" value="{{ routes.cart_url }}">
  <p>Add {{ addon.title }} for {{ addon.price | money }}?</p>
  <button type="submit">Add to order</button>
</form>
{%- endunless -%}

Paste it into a Custom Liquid section on the cart template (theme editor > Cart > Add section > Custom Liquid), and change gift-wrap to your add-on product's handle. What this snippet does not do: hide the offer once the add-on is in the cart, add without reloading, or apply rules and dates. (all_products is also limited to 20 unique handles per page.) Those details are what the apps above handle.

FAQ

What is the best free order bump app for Shopify?

On 9 October 2026, Cart Bump (one cart page offer) and BumpPro (one checkout bump rule) list free plans for live stores. Axe and OrderBump have free trials but no free plan.

Does an order bump work in the cart drawer?

It depends on the app. Cart Bump works on the cart page only. Several cart drawer apps (for example Kaching CartDrawer, UpCart, AMP) include drawer upsells as part of a larger drawer.

Order bump or post-purchase upsell?

An order bump is added before payment, in the same order. A post-purchase upsell is offered after payment, as a one-click add to the completed order. Many stores use both.

Do order bump apps discount the add-on?

Some do. Cart Bump adds the item at its normal price and shows the compare-at price if one is set; for a real discount, create a Shopify automatic discount for that product.


Last checked 9 October 2026. Spotted something out of date? Email support@digitalcartel.online.